The Government of Lesotho is a constitutional monarchy. The Prime Minister, who is the Executive Authority, leads the Government. The King serves more as a ceremonial icon and does not actively participate in political initiatives. The National Assembly is the lower house of parliament which is controlled by the coalition of parties, namely; All Basotho Convention (ABC), Lesotho Congress for Democracy (LCD) and Basutoland National Party (BNP). The Assembly represents Democratic Congress (DC), National Independent Party, Lesotho Workers Party and other minority parties. The upper house of parliament, called the Senate, is composed of 22 Principal Chiefs whose membership is hereditary, and 11 appointees of the King.


About LNDC

The Lesotho National Development Corporation (LNDC) is the main parastatal of the Government of Lesotho charged with the implementation of the country’s industrial development policies.

“The mandate of the Corporation is to initiate, promote and facilitate the development of manufacturing and processing industries, mining and commerce in a manner calculated to raise the level of income and employment in Lesotho.”  more...

Contact us

Lesotho National Development Corporation
Block A, Development House, Kingsway Street
Maseru, Lesotho, 100

Stay Connected

Remote EMAIL Access